SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{January 12, 2013}   Recipe: Super Easy Crockpot Hashbrown Casserole

No lie, I’m craving comfort foods these days.  If I don’t watch it, my clothes will fit again!  Last weekend, my DH invited friends over to grill, but being a manly man, didn’t think twice about a side dish, so I decided I would indulge in some comfort food.  So Monkey 2 and I got out the computer, dug through some recipes, and got out the handy-dandy crockpot.

I’ve been googling recipes for potato soups a lot lately, particularly crockpot ones using hashbrowns.  Well, the recipe we came up with took some bits from here, dabs from there, and turned out a delicious concoction!  And I think it cost less than $5 to make, served 6 people  and there were leftovers!

Ingredients:
1 – 26 – 32 ounce bag frozen southern style hash browns (I used cubed)
1 – cup unflavored yogurt
1 – 10.5 oz can cream of chicken soup
1/4 – cup onion, chopped fine
2 – cups shredded cheddar cheese (it was one package from my grocery!)
1/2 – cup butter, melted
salt and pepper, to taste (about 1/4 teaspoon each)

Directions:
In a large bowl stir together the spices, yogurt, onion, shredded cheese and melted butter. Mix to combine. Spray your slow cooker with nonstick spray.  Open your hashbrowns and empty into the crockpot.  Spoon the combined ingredients into the crock on top of the potatoes and combine.  Cover and cook on high for 3-4 hours or until done. On the sides, you may find it crispy and the casserole will bubble – YUM!

I also had a slice of bacon that I cut up and put in the casserole.  The only problem is that it was maple-flavored and sweetened my casserole dramatically.

Do you have a comfort food that’s particularly appealing right now?

~ Katie

What you need:. The Beanery was the actually the first true forerunner for slow cookers.
These types of cookers range in size from one quart all the way up to a nine quart size.



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
