SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{February 9, 2013}   Furniture Addiction: Re-purposing a Stool

I love furniture.  I love to look at it, try it out, shop for it, buy it.  My sweet husband tells people he is perfectly safe sending me to Ivan Smith with every checkbook, credit card, and tiny bit of cash in the house, because I probably won’t buy anything.  I take advantage of the “x months, no interest” financing when buying furniture and refuse to buy any more till what I have is paid off (always before the promo period is over!)  We’ve slowly replaced our second (third, fourth) hand furniture over the past few years.  My living room was a bit of an impulse buy, but we’d needed to replace the hand-me-downs for a while.  My bedroom I shopped for over two years after the living room was paid for before I bought it, and my favorite chair was at Big Lots several years before I gave myself permission to bring it home.

In my living room, I had this wicker chest (hand-me-down) as my entertainment stand media unit for the first several years we lived here.  I have an idea in my head of what I want and I will not pay for something less.  But with the furniture swapping around that occurred with my bedroom purchase, I was left with extra dressers.  Something in me will not allow me to get rid of a dresser.  The one I had in Granny-at-the-Farm’s old house as a teenager was not in the greatest shape after both monkeys used it at different points, after probably twenty years of my not-so-gentle care.  But it had great bones.  With Pa-Paw’s help cutting shelves, I transformed that old dresser into a perfectly acceptably media unit.

We still have lots of hand-me-down furniture or things we bought from my mother-in-law when we moved into the house.  Some things are slowly making their way to new homes, some just to new purposes.  One that is finding a new purpose is the funky stool.

The funky stool lives in my garage.  It’s one of those little wooden stools you can buy at the craft store.  It’s had foam placed on top and fabric stapled over it.  It is FUNKY.  Grizzly’s friends sit on it when everyone hangs out in the garage, but I have a better purpose for it.

My beloved chubby chair is not a recliner.  I think it’s called a club chair.  Or a tub chair.  Anyway, you can’t put your feet up, unless you’re Monkey 2, who curls up in the chair like a slithery snake.  I’m going to repurpose the funky stool as a foot stool for my awesome chair.  One of the pillows that came with my couch was the victim of a tug-of-war between the monkeys and the four-legged kid, and is not fixable – as a pillow.  My plan is to take that fabric to make a new top for the funky stool.  With some paint and a little stuffing, the fabric matches all the other furniture, and I’ll have a new stool.

Without going shopping.

Are you addicted to furniture?  What’s your favorite piece?

~ Katie

I’ll come back & post pics later!

 

jeepnmom says:

I thought you were working in the master bed room?



katiebman says:

I’m almost done 🙂 I talked to my BFF earlier, and that sped up the process.



mcsgal says:

I have a 1950’s kitchen table that we have talked about replacing with a nice wooden one. I have changed my mind. I like having an indestructible table that I can write on, cut out cookies on and put hot pans on. The table stays even if it is ugly.



katiebman says:

They don’t make furniture like they used to, for sure! The nice thing with furniture, even if it’s ugly, you can re-vamp it if you need to. I’m excited about my stool project. Even though I could buy its twin at Michael’s or Hobby Lobby for under $5, I’m too cheap. None of my furniture is more than about 10 years old, except my re-purposed dresser, Monkey 2’s dressers, and my nightstand. Most of the hand-me-downs aren’t old because the handers change decor so much!



Hey there just wanted to give you a quick
heads up. The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Chrome.
I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d
post to let you know. The design look great though!

Hope you get the problem solved soon. Cheers



katiebman says:

Thanks for the tip. I use Mozilla firefox for everything, note familiar with Google Chrome at all.



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
