SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{February 15, 2013}   Organizing: Cleaning Out the Coupon Binder

Military member reunited with family

 

I love Sundays.  Before everyone gets up, I sit at the kitchen table with my coupon binder and start clipping the week’s goodies.  It’s one of my routines and I am definitely a creature of habit, as most of us really are.

 

As I put my coupons into the pages of my binder, I cull those that I know I won’t use before they expire, or pull out the ones that (gasp!) have already expired.  After so many years of working in hospital pharmacies, expired anything does not remain in the House of Cheaptitude.

 

But what to do with the expireds?  In the pharmacy, we’d ship them off to some company that would give us a little money in return.  That doesn’t work for coupons, and mine have hit the trash more than once since beginning the couponing game.  This seems so wasteful to me!  And a quick Google search showed me it is wasteful indeed.

 

Did you know that our military families overseas can use expired coupons for up to six months?  There are FaceBook pages dedicated to this very topic!  Color me shocked – and a little guilted.  For a few stamps, I could have been helping out our servicemen and women.  But I didn’t know how to get started. Checking the internet was a huge help.

 

Some of the sites I found had different requirements, so be sure to check several and use the one that best fits your needs.  A few I found included Troopons, where you can send both active and expired coupons; OCP, where you adopt a base; and  Operation Expiration, an organization that puts together mailings of expired coupons for military families.  I personally signed up with Coupons to Troops, an organization that connected me with a specific family overseas.  I liked the idea of sending my coupons to a specific family, rather than just a clearinghouse for redistribution.  And this way I can find out if my adopted family is looking for particular coupons (like diapers, since I don’t need them!)

 

I’ll be sending out my first envelope this weekend.  I’m really excited.  It’s regular postage, since it’s going to a U.S. military installation, and I’m passing on some help to another family.  My family and friends have been so supportive in hard times, it feels good to pay it forward.

 

So what do you do with expired coupons?  Are you adding to a landfill?  Have you thought about passing on the savings?

 

~ Katie

 

 

 

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
