SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{February 16, 2013}   Household Binder: Section 1 – Emergency

A woman’s home management binder should be like her purse: organized in the way that works best for her.  Because I have a specific purpose behind my binder, I also have an idea of how it will be set up.  As much as I’d like to focus on making it pretty, it first needs to be functional.

Section One will be Emergency Information.  Those numbers must be front and center, easily accessible to whomever is running the House of Cheaptitude at that time (babysitter, Grizzly, PaPaw, Nana, etc.) I only need one page in the emergency section at this point – Emergency phone numbers, our address and directions to our house.

These are the emergency numbers I think need to be included:

  • Police/Fire/Ambulance – I’m lucky enough to be in an area with 911 service, but not everyone is.
  • Our home phone/address/directions from the main road – This is good to have for a 911 operator.
  • Poison Control Center – According to the CDC, over 2,000 people are treated in the Emergency Room and 87 people die daily in the U.S. from accidental poisoning.  Those numbers terrify an overprotective mama like me.
  • Family doctors/after-hours numbers – Our pediatrician is AWESOME and if we call her office after hours, we’ll be put in touch with a doc on call.  My doctor, however, does not take call, so I have to use a different number after about 4 in the afternoon and on weekends.
  • Dad’s name/work number/cell number – The monkeys know their daddy’s name, but I may someday have to quit relying on the kindness of parental units for child care (shudder) and hire a sitter.
  • Mom’s name/work number/cell number – See above!
  • Grandparents‘ names and phone numbers where they can be reached – We are so blessed that our parental units live so close by!  Even Granny-at-the-Farm could be here within a half an hour, if necessary.
  • Close friend’s name & number – One of my BFF’s lives right around the corner and she’s super-dependable, which makes her a great emergency contact.
  • Neighbor’s name/number – This one is more problematic, as we’re not very close with most of our neighbors.

In the past, I’ve used a cute form from Delight in Real Life, but I have it in my head that my binder will be more uniform this go-round, so I’ll make my own, based on what worked from those I’ve used in the past.  Organized Home offers a good one, too, if you’re not feeling very creative.

*UPDATE* I’ve added a printable at the end of this post.  Let me know what you think!

Are you working on a home management binder?  What will you include in yours?

~ Katie

Emergency Information

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
