SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{February 16, 2013}   Repurposing a Soup Can – Project 010513

Over the Labor Day holiday, I stocked my freezer with meals.  I could not see letting all of those perfectly good cans go to waste, so I ran them through the dishwasher to be repurposed.  MaMaw requested some, the monkeys hot glued crayons to some (pencil holders for favorite teachers, of course), and the rest I put with my crafty stuff.

During the Christmas Break, I decided to repurpose the hall closet.  I discovered many, many half-finished and never-started projects.  I organized the supplies to make room for the closet’s new inhabitants and promised myself to complete some projects as time allowed.

Today, I finally figured out that DROID’s cord connects perfectly to my Kodak Easy Share camera, and I found pictures of one of my projects!  One of the things I found in that closet was a Ball Canning Jar Decorating Kit that I’d picked up at the craft store years ago because it was on clearance for 25 cents.

I will not waste a good canning jar.

I will however repurpose a soup can.  Here are some pictures of what I did:

Project January 5, 2013 - Repurposing a soup can

Project January 5, 2013 – Repurposing a soup can

This kit was intended to decorate a Mason jar, but I can't bring myself to use a jar in that manner!

This kit was intended to decorate a Mason jar, but I can’t bring myself to use a jar in that manner!

 

 

This is the soup can after both layers of paper have been glued on.

This is the soup can after both layers of paper have been glued on.

 

 

 

 

Here is the end result. Not exactly like the kit, but hey, I upcycled!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think it turned out cute.  I tied some raffia and wooden tags on it and its set aside in the gift stash till needed.

Do you repurpose cans?  How do you use them?

~ Katie

 

Those are some very creative re-uses for soup cans! I’m always looking for crafty things to do with my 3 year old daughter with things we already have, but this isn’t something I’ve tried. My biggest concern with a toddler and soup cans is the sharp inside of the mouth of the can. How do you deal with that?



katiebman says:

I use the smooth-edge can opener from Pampered Chef. Monkey 1 cut his finger badly at age 2 (stitches and the whole 9 yards!) and I’ve not had any other can opener since. It’s not terribly expensive and has saved us many trips to the doctor.



My step-mom did Pampered Chef, and I got one of those. I usually use the elctric can opener, but that is a great idea! Thanks!



katiebman says:

No problem! And you can do a google search for more project ideas. The crayon thing came from Pinterest – an an overabundance of crayons. The other was a craft kit laying around my valuable real estate 🙂 Could probably achieve the same effect with scrapbook supplies.



I have plenty of scrapbooking stuff left from when my mom and I used to do cards, bookmarks and photo scrapbooks together. My daughter is just now getting old enough to enjoy little projects, so I’m always on the look-out for fun ideas of things to do with her. 🙂 I’ve got crafty things hidden all over the place, too, but mostly in a cabinet in my daughter’s closet.



katiebman says:

I love crafting with the monkeys. They have interesting ideas!



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
