SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{February 18, 2013}   Household Binder: Section 3 Calendars/Planner

Office Calendar

Office Calendar (Photo credit: glindsay65)

This section has been my planner. It is, without a doubt, the thickest and most complicated section.  Ugh.  But it is necessary for the House of Cheaptitude to run smoothly.

What goes in this section?  Honestly, it would be easier to ask what doesn’t.

  • Monthly calendars
  • Any long and short term to-do lists.  I’ve mentioned before mine reproduce themselves exponentially (there’s that word CrazyMathLady would love!) with startling speed.
  • Reminder notes.  The guidance counselors at my school are amazing about putting little conference sheets in my box at work.  I wish they did it less frequently…..
  • Birthday calendars.  Since I don’t get on FaceBook often anymore, this would be helpful.  There are very few birthdates I remember off the top of my tinsel-covered head.
  • Work schedules.  This would be the school year calendar for my district, meeting dates, reporting dates, etc. For Grizzly?  His is all in his head, which makes me insane!
  • School schedules.  The district school calendar for the Monkeys (they attend in a different district than I teach), Monkey 1’s class schedule, and important dates for Monkey 2’s school.
  • Activity schedules.  This would be karate, church, PSR, pool/softball/whatever Grizzly is up to,  Bunco, etc.
  • Any piece of paper with a date on it.

Most of these items are “handouts” from work, school, church, and other activities.  I can hole-punch and add these easily.  They could go in page protectors, but I don’t see the need as the longest most are useful is a year.

I have a calendar on my kitchen wall with everyone’s “stuff” listed.  To do this, though, I have to track down every crumbled scrap of paper with a date on it.  In the planning section of my binder, I can just open it up and transfer dates each month.  The kitchen calendar then acts as my daily reminder of who needs to be where at what time.

I would not include my cleaning lists nor my menu plan because I keep those in other sections of the binder.  My bill-paying calendar may go in this section, as I am planning to set up a separate finance binder and don’t care to access that one every day.

I have not created any forms for the planner section, yet.  There are too many cute templates available for download that work just fine for me.  At some point, I may make some forms, but I doubt it.

I’d also like to color code everyone’s activities on the main calendar, even though it’s less than necessary.  Grizzly is a visual guy, though, so maybe it would be helpful for him.

What would you include in the planner section of a home management binder?

~ Katie

jeepnmom says:

This planner is turning up to be a very large project! I give you credit though, I’m not sure I will be able to pull off such an item. I do LOVE binders though! My State Farm insurance guy gave us a binder when we signed up for insurance. So all of our insurance information is housed there. Car insurance, life insurance, health/optical/dental insurance and home owners insurance. I’m thinking when I tackle the binder here it will be several smaller binders. Color coded and pretty of course! Keep posting about the sections though, I love the detail!



katiebman says:

Mine used to be all one binder but I have one binder dedicated to the blue lemon, a binder for bank statements (thanks, Red River Bank!), and I’ve started one with home stuff, like warranty and payments. So the household binder will end up being smaller when I’m done than when I started in 2001….



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



[…] Household Binder: Section 3 (sobomama.wordpress.com) […]



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
