SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{February 18, 2013}   Lost Weekend

The best laid plans of mice and men…go awry in the House of Cheaptitude.  I hate it when I look so forward to a weekend and it goes to waste.  I’m not one of those people who enjoys being slacktastic.  And I’m not saying that this weekend has been a disaster or anything, but I didn’t get everything done that I wanted.

  • I still need to go to Goodwill.
  • I need to add objectives to my lesson plans.
  • I need to write my next Outsiders quiz.
  • My webpage for school needs updating for this week.
  • I have a stack of novel studies waiting impatiently for grades.
  • My room is a little messy again. The Monkey dens are insanely gross.
  • Mt. Washmore is starting to look like Mt. Everest.
  • I still need to move computers around.
  • The living room and kitchen look a hot mess.

Yesterday I was miserable with a headache.  This morning, when Grizzly got up to go to work, I told him I was considering going to the doctor (yes, it has been that bad!)  I didn’t overindulge in adult bevs at Bunco, so I’m not sure what exactly is going on, but it isn’t nice.

Today I need to straighten the kitchen (post-Grizzly grilling practice yikes!), stop by PaPaw’s house, pick up some more 50 cent Cheerios at the grocery (no lie – double coupon with a 3/$6 sale!), and get ready for the upcoming week.  Monkey 2’s play kitchen has moved to the back porch with her picnic table (I see a play restaurant in the future) and I can technically move my computer to her room today.  You know what is on my mind though?  THE FUNKY STOOL!

I feel that if I do something I want to do, maybe I’ll get through what I need to do.  So I’ll dust and clean the stool, do a first coat of paint, and work on chores while it dries.  I really see promise in this plan.

On a happier note, I did (kind of) clean out my email box this morning.  I’m down to about 200 emails….

Do you get frustrated with your to-do list?  How do you handle it?

~ Katie

preciouskidsquilts says:

Where exactly is this Cheerios sale? Frustrated with my to-do list? Every day! Sometimes, I pick one wall and spray on the cleaner for one manageable section. Spraying it on is easy! Then, I HAVE to wipe it clean! That helps with motivation a little. It also makes me feel like I accomplishes SOMETHING! As I clean, I keep re-listing what I DID get done today in my head. It makes me feel more accomplished and motivated. Something I’ve been doing lately that motivates me no matter how cruddy I feel, is to set my phone to YouTube videos about hoarders and keep it really close by. I don’t think there could be a greater on-the-spot motivator for me! 🙂



katiebman says:

Love it! Cheerios are on sale at my Brookshires 😦 Sorry, girl! The kids don’t care for the original yellow box but I mix it in with some sweet flavored ones in the cereal dispenser and they don’t know the dif 🙂



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
