SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{March 1, 2013}   Friday, My Friend, How I’ve Missed You….

These days I live for Fridays.  Each day is a day closer to Friday and a weekend in the peace of my home.

A group of my girlfriends headed to the Big Easy this morning for a getaway weekend.  CrazyMathLady and I were both invited, but feel too tied to our jobs.  I don’t feel comfortable taking the blue lemon outside the city limits, and as much as I’ve always loved New Orleans, I’m really not feeling it.  I love love love my Bunco Babes, but I can’t see being away from home.  My cheaptitude might get misplaced.

I probably need the break, though.  Every weekend, I’m consumed by school tasks and household chores and things that I need/want to do and a to-do list that spills over each weekend.  Really, I know what needs doing.  I just need to do it.  This weekend, I have no to-do list.  I’m just going to do whatever I do. I want to be home.

But I’m not feeling completely hermitish this weekend.  For some crazy reason, I have a strong desire to go to the flea market.  I went so far as to call Grizzly at lunch time to see if he has to work this weekend.  Honestly, as I’m decluttering the house bit by bit, there really is no rhyme or reason but it sounded like a fun morning with the kids.  And maybe I’ll find that lamp for my bedroom.  Or a meat grinder like my Great-Grandma had.  Or some other goodie waiting for repurposing in the House of Cheaptitude.

Maybe I’m missing Jeepnmom and her bunch.

I feel certain that by lunch tomorrow, I’ll have a list going on my refrigerator and some project or another started.  But right now, on a Friday night with the idiot box on Discovery, it feels good to pretend I have nothing to do.  I’m ignoring Mt. Washmore and the clean dishes in the dishwasher.  The piles in the garage awaiting transport to Goodwill are escaping my notice for a minute.  Monkey 2 can name the dust bunnies for now (she’s been asking for more pets, anyway) and my lesson plans are already outlined in my head.  My management binder is progressing nicely on my laptop, but it can wait a while longer for more revisions.

Of course, now that I’ve said I’m focused on nothingness tonight, that ugly stool is calling my name.  Maybe I will tackle a project tonight, after all.

What are you up to this weekend?

~ Katie

 

 

jeepnmom says:

I’ve been missing my best friend too! I think an occasional brunch and shopping day would solve that….but the mid-way drive is a little long for both of us. 😦



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
