SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{March 5, 2013}   Time…

hello, weekend.

hello, weekend. (Photo credit: erin m)

 

I get out of bed at 4:30 in the morning (sometimes a little earlier) during the work week.  That gives me a little more than an hour to myself every day.  I head in to work at just after 6, never clocking in later than 6:30, where every second is pretty much packed until I walk out the door around 2:40.  I hurry home and begin dealing with whatever is going on there – activities, dinner, housework.  I squeeze in a little more work, whether it is parent calls/e-mails, grading papers, writing lessons, or updating my webpage.  I’ve gone to work when I probably should have been to the doctor because I always have so much to do.  There is never enough time.

 

This became clear, thanks to the DMV.  I had to renew the registration on Grizzly’s truck last month.  The blue lemon will be coming up next month.  Then I realized how long it’s been since I’ve renewed my driver’s license, so I dug it out of my purse to check the expiration.  Sure enough, it expires on my birthday in two and a half weeks.

 

And I can’t renew online this time, because I did so last time.

 

And the Office of Motor Vehicles in my area tends to be an all day adventure.

 

Dad gum.

 

I found a sub and lined up an urgent personal day.  With state testing starting on the 19th, there is no way I could put this off any longer, especially knowing that it would likely take several hours.  My teacher buddy told me I should have taken a Friday, but seriously, a Friday at the DMV?  She was also jealous that I could sleep in.  Um, I have 2 monkeys that still had to go to school today.  So I still got up early.

 

After putting Monkey #2 on the bus and talking to Granny-at-the-Farm for a minute, I headed to NoBo.  I had considered going to the office in Minden, but with gas prices the way they are, I loaded up some papers to grade and headed to NoBo.

 

Did you know you have to stand in line to get a service ticket at the DMV now?

 

And they don’t call the tickets exactly in order?

 

Thankfully, I finished up just after 9 and called my friend, TheRealestChickEVER, to see if she wanted to do coffee since I was on her side of the tracks.  Unfortunately, that didn’t work out, but I did get other errands done while out and about:

 

  • I drove to Target and bought lightbulbs for Monkey #1’s ceiling fan.  Thanks, Secret Santa!
  • I visited the Starbuck’s while I was there and got a Mama-sized Caramel Macchiato.  Thanks, Grizz and Aunt Yvette.
  • I went to Books-A-Million to purchase Monkey #1 the book they’re reading in class right now.  I can tell I don’t shop there often, as it took me quite a while to locate it!
  • To donate all of the bags of goodies that have accumulated in my garage since I’ve started decluttering, I ran by the nearest Goodwill location.
  • I visited Family Dollar to see about a lamp and a pink comforter.  No dice on either.
  • Finally, I dropped by the credit union to pay my car note.  A little early, even!

 

And I was home again by 11:30.

 

Exactly where I want to be most of the time!

 

And I returned a few work e-mails, called some parents, and graded papers.

 

As much as I would love to take a day off and just goof off, it’s really difficult to do so.  I want to be productive, in some way, every minute of the day if I can.  It hurts my feelings when I get so run down that I actually stay in the bed all day.

 

Now it’s time to compile my grocery list, match up some coupons, and go to the grocery before the monkeys return.

 

How would you spend an “urgent personal day?”

 

~ Katie

 

 

jeepnmom says:

Lay in bed all day with a bottle of red wine and fifty shades trilogy! 🙂



katiebman says:

I’m not a fan of red wine and I really don’t want to lay in bed all day 🙂 I got a lot accomplished – minus the store. I may go after karate.



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
