SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{March 8, 2013}   Recipe: Bacon Cheeseburger Macaroni

Flickr cmartin82 3177455386--BBQ bacon cheddar...

Flickr cmartin82 3177455386–BBQ bacon cheddar burger (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Avoiding the grocery as I’ve been lately, I’ve not really stuck with my menu plan.  WHich stinks, because my menu plan works really well when properly implemented.  And it totally messed me up on Wednesday at dinner time.

Once upon a time, I’d have just ordered pizza.

Instead, I started scrounging through cabinets and freezers, trying to come up with something for dinner before the boys got home from karate.  Out of milk meant no Hamburger Helper.  We’d already done a taco-type dish on Tuesday, and spaghetti Monday.  What else is quick and easy?

This is what I ended up with:

Bacon Cheeseburger Macaroni (aka The Cheaptitude Pantry is Bare)

When I browned my ground beef, I added a little Tony Chachere’s seasoning.  I could probably eat Tony’s on my cereal!  Love it.  I also used some Chicago-style steak seasoning.  Once the meat was almost completely browned, I added the package of bacon pieces.

I prepared the macaroni by the directions on the box with a few exceptions.  I add garlic salt to my water to bring it to a boil more quickly.  I also add a touch of olive oil so my pasta doesn’t stick together.

When all of that was done, I combined the meat and pasta in a pot with the butter and sour cream.  Then I stirred in the cheese.

It’s not Grandma Betty’s Mac & Cheese, but it will sustain life.  Grizzly had seconds, and I don’t think it was because he was totally starving.

Necessity is the mother of invention!  What is your favorite throw-it-together meal?

~ Katie

 

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
