SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{March 15, 2013}   An Extra Hour

Retailers generally favor DST. United Cigar St...

Retailers generally favor DST. United Cigar Stores hailed a 1918 DST bill. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I try to make the most of every minute I’m awake.  I’m so proud that this week, I had inputted most of my grades before I left school today! All I have to do is lesson plans, and they should be pretty easy with testing and a movie next week.  But I t-r-e-a-s-u-r-e my sleep.  I cannot imagine I’ll stay up late tonight to get anything done.  There is no tired-er week than when we have to change the clipping clocks in the spring!

I get that Daylight Savings Time began as an energy saving measure (I googled it – I always thought it was an agricultural thing!) but studies have shown that it really doesn’t have an impact!  And it drains my energy for a while, let me tell you.

I already get up by 4:30 every morning.  That means this week it felt like 3:30.  By the time I’m coming home from school, I’m ready to climb into bed and not ever get up.  Acting as Monkey #1’s chauffeur this week has given me a second wind in the evenings, for some reason.  Toward the end of his karate classes, I’m ready to write tests, fold laundry, and clean the kitchen.  And then I can’t fall asleep till after 9.  Last night was 10:30!!  Grizzly, when he’s home in time to chat, has warned me about the unhappiness that is liable to result from decreased sleep.  I can’t help it, though.  I had kind of a highway hypnosis going on driving home today.  Not cool!  But already I feel myself perking up – and haven’t started the coffee yet.

Although I hate losing my precious sleep time, I can appreciate some things about DST.  There is more daylight in the evenings, which gives the monkeys longer to play outside.  And more time for me to work in my flower bed and my yard, both in desperate need of my attention.  I called Grand-muh-mah earlier this week and she was verbally wagging her finger at me because I’ve not put any tomatoes in yet.

Spring Break will be here soon.  I’ll add another list to my list of projects.

I’m trying to look at the brighter side of DST.  However, attached as I am to my bed time and sleep, I’m more than a little resentful right this minute.  Check back with me in a few weeks.

How do you deal with the time change?

~ Katie

jeepnmom says:

I despise daylight savings! My personal opinion, we should fall back 1/2 an hour and leave it that way forever!



I adjust to it by being a zombie from my children not coping with the change well and the weeks it takes to get them back on schedule. Fun times, fun times! 😉



katiebman says:

I’m looking forward to Spring Break next week. I’m up till after 9 right now and still getting up at 4-430. I’m cranky and tired!



katiebman says:

Remind me never to use that poster in my classroom. 8th graders would have too much fun.



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
