SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{March 15, 2013}   The Price of Procra$tination

Had a hankering for something sweet last night...

I have spent most of today piddling around the house, finishing nothing.  Super Nana has the kids for a family to-do (that I’m too cheap to do lol) and I’ve been situating my coupons for a long-needed grocery trip.

I have three envelopes of expired coupons to ship overseas to Coupons to Troops.

My grocery list fills a page a college-ruled notebook paper.  What have I done?

“It is what it is.”  That’s one of my favorite sayings.  Granny-at-the-Farm always corrects me, stating, “It is what you allow it to be.”

I’ve allowed my stocks to become completely depleted.  I know there is no way of staying within my $50 budget.  And it’s my own fault.  Again, routines and habits.

My coupon binder is stocked and organized.  My list is done.  I’m planning to restock my freezer meals, which I know runs about $60 alone, but I can get at least 15 gallon bags into my freezer for that, $4 each, and there are always leftovers from those meals.  My reusable sacks are sorted and counted.  I’ve matched the ads for the 2 stores I’ll shop today.

Why do I have this sense of dread?

It is what it is.  Maybe I can surprise myself and come out of this more cheaply than I thought.

***

$153 after coupons and store rewards.

Procrastination was quite pricey!

In the wisdom of my 3 plus decades, I have discovered that everything in life can be treated as a learning experience and this was one of those experiences.  I also did not check off everything on my grocery list, transferring many items to the next one, but my pantry is nicely stocked.  I had snacks for my lunches each day this week, the monkeys had bananas for a few days and have moved on to devouring fruit cups, and there was meat with green veggies at every dinner.  Win-win-win, as far as I’m concerned.

Did I have the ingredients on hand for Grandma Sweitzer’s oatmeal cookies?  Nope.  That project can wait for spring break.

Did I have the ingredients to make a yummy meatloaf and potatoes?  Yup.  And Monkey 2 is loving a meatloaf sandwich these days.  Go figure.

Anyway, my whole original point was that when we put things off, it costs us dearly.  It costs money, time, space, whatever.  My trip to the grocery would not have taken as long, nor would it have had the same financial sting, if I’d planned better instead of running out of everything.  I will take this lesson into account the next time I put off a chore!

What has procrastination cost you?

~ Katie

Procrastination has cost me having to pay full price for things when I could’ve gotten them for pennies on the dollar. It has also resulted in my laundry piles never being completely caught up. Mount Laundry is a forever battle for me and my procrastinating side. 🙂



katiebman says:

For sure, sister! There is a reason I’ve not posted pics of my family room. The four baskets of laundry waiting to be folded….



In the past I suffered greatly due to procrastination by paying more for things or being stressed out trying to get one of the kid’s projects done on time. I now use a calendar and do my chores weekly to help keep me on track. Of course, sometimes life gets in the way and we have to start all over again! 🙂 That’s funny, one of my favorite sayings is “It is what it is”…



katiebman says:

For sure! Granny-at-the-farm suggests I start using Cozi, but I kind of like the calendar on the kitchen wall. Call me old-fashioned!



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
