SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{March 25, 2013}   Quick and Easy Dinner Idea (for when I’m lazy/disorganized): Baked Sandwich

Welcome to Spring Break!  I was so tempted today to throw my teriyaki chicken in the crockpot today.  I thought better of it, since I’m actually off this whole week, and we do have some crazy scheduling coming up soon – when I’ll need to  crockpot.  So instead, we had yummy baked sandwiches for dinner.

I know this was not one of my own creations.  I’m sure I saw the recipe online and tweaked it.  Maybe JeepnMom can remind me.  But this is a cheap and easy dinner, actually just a yummy as Subway, and I have leftover ingredients that I can use for other things this week.

Quick and Easy Baked Sandwich

  • 1 loaf French Bread, sliced lengthwise down the middle
  • 1 squeeze bottle of pizza sauce (you could also spoon any kind of pasta sauce you happen to have on hand)
  • thin-sliced lunch meat (I used ham, turkey and roast beef)
  • cheese of your choice (I used provolone, mozzarella, and mild cheddar)
  • Italian seasoning

My bread was very fresh and not sliced yet, so I had to slice it down the middle.  I squeezed pizza sauce on both sides and spread evenly with a knife.  Then I layered my lunch meats, only on one side.

image

Once the sauce and meats are added, I put a layer of cheese on one side of the bread.  Of course, my family is kind of partial to cheese, so I went ahead and added some on top of the meat, too.  Then I sprinkled a little Pampered Chef Italian seasoning on top of everything.

image

I baked it, open-faced,  on the Pampered Chef Large Bar Stone at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.  This is long enough to kind of toast the sandwich, heat the meat, and melt the cheese.  image

I didn’t let it cool off before putting the sandwich together!

image

This was a thumbs-up from Grizzly and the Monkeys.  Add a side of green beans, and we’re golden.  There is only one serving left!

A lot of these ingredients are things I usually have stocked in my kitchen already, with the exception of the french loaf.  The entire meal was under $10 to make, with plenty of ingredients left for other recipes.  Bonus!

What do you make when you’re not in the mood to cook?  Have you had any surprisingly successful creations grown out of necessity?

~ Katie

 

 

jeepnmom says:

I’m not sure where you found it, but I’m betting it hits our Menu board for next week!



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
