SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{July 20, 2013}   Reflection: See You Soon

Lately I’ve been going through a lot of old pictures for a project. It’s made me realize how my circle of friends has changed over time.

Growing up, I thought I’d be tight with my close friends forever. Now I see those folks on Facebook, we talk about getting together to catch up, but we never do.  It doesn’t make me fake, or those old friends fake, either. It just is the way it is. I still talk to Jeepnmom all the time, 30 years later, a thousand miles away, but she’s the only one.

Grizzly and I have settled down in a military  town.  Through his interests and mine, we’ve made lots of friends. Some close, some not so close, and we’ve come to accept over the years that many of our friends, military or not, have to move on eventually.

Recently, we attended a going away party for one of Grizzly’s friends, Bama Ken (not his real name, but he could have been sculpted by Mattel – Real Chick says my husband only has good-looking friends!)

image

And even though we don’t like to think about it, or talk about it, the fact that another of our friends is going to be someplace for several months where, let’s face it, Americans aren’t exactly winning popularity contests, brings home just how impermanent these relationships really might be.

image

Are we supposed to stop being close to people? Do we only become friends with people whose roots are so deeply entrenched in SoBo that we can safely assume they’ll never leave? I don’t want to live like that. I don’t have as many close relationships as maybe I once did, but geography isn’t a factor.

So we’ll continue to make memories with our friends, enjoying their company while we have it. And we’ll attend going away parties, try to stay in touch, pray while they’re away.

image

And hope every day that they come home safely, soon, to photo bomb us again.

~ Katie

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
