SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{January 7, 2014}   Recipe: Amazing Crockpot Pork Roast

In my house, you can pretty much count on a crockpot meal on Mondays. I have faculty meetings, Grizzly has pool, and Pioneer Woman’s husband joins us. Occasionally, when I can’t make up my mind, I text the Red Bull for input (chili!!!!), but that’s kind of rare.

Last week, when we learned the cold front was coming in, I ended up with pot roast stuck in my head.

By the time I went to the store, I felt poorly in more than one way. And for some reason, cow is expensive right now. I’m talking $13+ for a decent sized roast.

Or you can get a 6 pound pork roast for a little over $7.

I always crockpot pork roast with some barbecue sauce. Grizzly likes to put them on the grill. But I really wanted something different. Pinterest and Google both brought about some interesting finds. What I ended up with was combination of a few recipes.

SoBoMama’s Fall- Apart Pork Roast

  • 1 roast, thawed. (Mine actually contained a bone – and if you know me, you know I have bone issues!)
  • Injection kit (We always buy Tony Chachere’s garlic and butter or herb and butter, clean the “shot-sticker,” and re-use)
  • Salt and Pepper (no real measurement, just to taste)
  • 8 oz. Coca Cola
  • Butter (or margarine or whatever you use in your house)
  • A half cup of coffee
  • Worcestershire Sauce

At 4 A.M., when I arose to go back to the real world after Christmas Break, I retrieved the roast from the fridge and chunked (technical term!) it in the crockpot.  I sprinkled it with a little Worcestershire and then left it alone for a minute while I concocted my injection.  In a microwave-safe measuring cup (thank you, LilCajunChef!), I combined 1/2 stick of butter, a splash of Worcestershire, and a half cup of kind of strong coffee.  I microwaved the cup of stuff 1 minute (long enough to melt the butter) and whisked the mess out of it.  Then I pulled it up in my injector and injected the heck out of the roast in as many spots as I could.  I added eight ounces of Coca Cola, dashed it with salt  and pepper, turned the crockpot on low, put the lid on, and left it alone till I came home from work. At which point, it was totally juicy and falling apart.

Can I just say nobody starved Monday night?  The monkeys, Pioneer Woman, Grizzly, the Red Bull and I all had plenty to eat and there was enough left for pulled pork sandwiches Tuesday night.

You know I’m all about the freezer cooking, but I’m not sure how this would do prepped ahead like that.  It literally took all of 10 minutes to prepare from the start Monday morning.  If I were to freeze this, I would wait to inject, or maybe not even inject at all.  I think the coffee and Coca Cola and Worcestershire keep the roast plenty tender.  I didn’t even brown ahead of time.

With the roast, we had macaroni and cheese (boxed – ugh!) and baked beans.  And the Realest Chick I Know keeps fussing for the “recipe,” though there kind of isn’t one.  Go figure!

What’s your pork roast secret?

~ Katie

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
