SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{January 18, 2014}   Grand Plan Challenge: Entryway

I’m an Organized Home junkie. I have loved this site ever since the days of the message boards and challenges.

The interaction and message boards are a thing of the distant past, but the tips and ideas are still there. Every year, the New Year’s Grand Plan Cleaning Challenge is posted just after Christmas. Last year, jeepnmom and I decided to tackle the challenge together. Unfortunately, life got in the way! But we both love the idea of clean, organized spaces, and are trying again. We have a group on Facebook this year to post goals, challenges, and photos as we go. Hopefully we’ll stay with it a little longer.

The first week of the challenge was all about gathering supplies and lists and such. I didn’t do the best job on that one. I’m completely out of dusting spray.

Last weekend was the beginning of Entryway Week. I have a cute little hall with a cute little closet coming off the front door. Because that door is used so infrequently, the hall was still in pretty good shape – from last year. The closet? Not so much!

This is a "before" of my front hall, aka the entryway.

This is a “before” of my front hall, aka the entryway.

The closet in the front hall, intended for outerwear, I’d imagine, has become our catchall.  The shelf held my sewing machine, table linens, Christmas paper, and miscellaneous household paperwork.  The rod contained everything from old Letterman jackets to bridesmaid dresses to Monkey #2’s First Communion gown.  The bottom of the closet had household files, cleaning tools, packaging from miscellaneous electronics…basically anything without a home.  Then right before Christmas, we hosted a get-together with a bunch of our friends.  Grizz was in charge of cleaning the living room – which consisted of chunking everything in that closet.  Including an area rug that I no longer like in the living room.

"Before" of the hall closet.

“Before” of the hall closet.

I started by emptying the hallway all together.  The shoe shelf was removed, the shelf under the mirror cleared, and I dusted the mess out of everything.  Remember, I really haven’t touched this area in a year!

The cute shelf in the front hall under the pretty mirror before I straightened it.

The cute shelf in the front hall under the pretty mirror before I straightened it.

When I cleared the shelf, I “rediscovered” these really pretty hooks I’d ordered from one of those home parties over 10 years ago.  I’ve had this idea of hanging them in the hallway for the Monkeys’ school bags and jackets…IMG_20140111_095706_806

After all of the dusting and sweeping was done, I decided to tackle the closet.  Let me just say, that closet was absolutely ridiculous.  I ended up with everything in a huge pile in the living room.  While it was empty, I dusted the shelf in that closet and vacuumed the carpet at the bottom.  Then I needed to 1) sort all that crap; and 2) determine the purpose for that closet in order to put only appropriate stuff back!

So this is what I figured out – Purpose for the front hall:

  1. Monkeys’ shoes on shoe shelf
  2. Monkeys’ jackets on hooks (after Grizz installs the hooks!)
  3. Monkeys’ book bags under their jackets
  4. Shelf is for decoration until I decide differently.

Purpose for the hall closet:

Closet rod - After

Closet rod – After

  1. Outerwear on rod
  2. Vacuum/Shark/etc. in closet till I find another home for them
  3. File box on closet floor
  4. Sewing stuff on shelf
  5. *some* Scrapbook stuff – temp storage!
    The scrapbook crate is actually stuffed with pretty much done pages - just need to be organized and stuck in books...

    The scrapbook crate is actually stuffed with pretty much done pages – just need organizing and stuck in books…

    Sewing stuff in a neat grey tote...

    Sewing stuff in a neat grey tote…

    No more expensive formalwear in this closet!

    No more awkward, expensive formal wear in this closet!

    My file tote on wheels is one of my favorite things ever!

    My file tote on wheels is one of my favorite things ever!

Bottom of the closet - After

Bottom of the closet – After

  1. After - bottom of the closet

    After – bottom of the closet

 

 

 

*UPDATE* 1/21/14

The front hall still looks amazing, even a week later, with regular use.  I’m still having to remind the monkeys to hang their jackets.  Shoes still don’t always make it to the shoe rack, but as long as they’re there before bedtime, it’s a battle won in my book.  Keeping the bookbags in the front hall means we shouldn’t have the phone calls at 8AM asking Grizz or me to leave work to bring binders to school – yes, that does happen!

As long as I do a quick check daily/nightly, maintaining the entryway shouldn’t be difficult.  I think that’s probably why it’s first on the to-do list, so that you can have that quick sense of accomplishment and you can keep it up easily.

I also have a wishlist going for that area.  Actually, it’s kind of just one thing – a rug at the front door!  Well, maybe some kind of umbrella stand, too, but I really like the openness of it.

What do you think?  Do you follow a cleaning plan?

~ Katie

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
