SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{August 10, 2014}   Reclaimed Spaces: My Bathroom

Back in the fall of 2007, my little family moved from our first real home to SoBo, to rent my in-laws’ old house.  Grizzly painted Monkey #2’s bedroom and that was it. Monkey #1 liked his aunt’s mural, and Grizz was satisfied that since he was the one who’d painted everything, nothing needed to change.

A lot of things changed this spring. And with those changes, I felt the need to mark my territory. I did some work outside, revamping a plant stand, replacing the welcome mat, etc. Easter weekend, the kids put out knockout rose bushes while I ripped out ugly hedges and planted impatiens. It was a start. But I wanted more.

image

My house has never completely felt like my own. Very few things have changed since we moved in, and that aggravated me. Especially my master bathroom. In an ideal world, I could tear out everything and start over. Unfortunately, in the real world, I’m just a teacher, scraping by. I didn’t have the money to re-tile anything (ugly 70’s yellow!), let alone replace the sink, etc. My dear friend, Pioneer Woman, has an amazing eye, as well as a love of research, so I recruited her to help me revamp my master bath.

image

Picture this odd brownish color with yellow stuff in a teensy bathroom….

There was nothing to be done about the yellow tile. We would need to paint and play up a nice color scheme. We discussed lilac, blue, green…nothing struck my fancy. Then Pioneer Woman created a board on Pinterest dedicated to my bathroom. Grey. Grey would maybe work.

image

Which meant shopping.

We went to Wal-Mart and Belk, before finding the perfect shower curtain at Kohl’s. The shower is the first thing you see….

image

Perfect. And a happy color scheme.

The grout in the tile was pretty fugly, so Pioneer Woman convinced me we could color the grout and, with help from Google, recaulk.
image

By no means is it perfect. Well, her CDO kicked in, so the caulk is, but the grout? Not so much. It is prettier than it was, though.

image

Grizzly had a small can of paint base, and the Queen of Cheaptitude loves free. Painting was on hold while waiting for the paint to be tinted, but planning certainly wasn’t. I unloaded the cabinets and started organizing.

I like to repurpose, and always have tons of junk around. On Pinterest, I found some really great ideas on organizing bathroom cabinets with small baskets. However, I have quite the collection of shoeboxes and fabric.

image

I couldn’t find my hot glue gun, so notice the staples in the fabric? I have quite the collection of lotions, I discovered. (The fabric was supposed to be my cousin Melissa’s flower girl dress for my wedding – 16 years ago!)

I also have an obsession with “hair bobs” and can never find them when I want. Remember when I containerized Monkey #2’s hair stuff?

image
I used some pretty scrapbook paper, an oatmeal carton, and now can find elastics any time I need to put my hair up.

I also saw cool cabinet door organizers for brushes, flat irons, hair dryers, etc. Most of them are PVC pipes cut down. I don’t collect PVC, but guess what I do have? Enough soup cans to sink the Titanic again.
image

It’s attached to the cabinet door under my sink with Command Strips, and using a spaghetti sauce can, it was the perfect size for my round brush. I used coordinating paper to cover some wooden craft frames that I happened to have on hand.

Pinterest also led me to use an open wooden cube as a toilet tissue holder. Michaels sells them in sets of 2, so I spray painted both a cheery yellow. One is hanging on the wall, while the other is by the toilet. I also had some small wooden shelves left over from Monkey #1’s nursery (I admit to hoarding tendencies) which I painted yellow and hung above the toilet.

With the bathroom being so miniscule, Pioneer Woman and I had a hard time deciding what to do about towels and such. There isn’t much wall space and I’ve chosen smaller items for decorating. On a trip to Hobby Lobby, we found some cool hooks, which I papered, added iron on monograms, and decoupaged.

image

They’re so much cuter after…
image
And perfect for the towels.

The paint was finally ready, and I’m not going to pretend I did a professional, or even a good job. Grizzly made fun of my dollar store tools, but you know what? I got the job done and didn’t ask for help!

image

I used a lighter shade on the walls, and darker for cabinets and trim. Forgot to take those pictures!!

I repurposed some vases and jars to hold q-tips and such. On the window sill, I have a graduated set with those yellow and clear glass rocks, just as decoration. Pioneer Woman found a pretty yellow sheer at Anna’s Linens that we’ve just scarfed as a curtain.

My bathroom is finally mine. Girly, but not too girly. And the darker colored paint scheme, rather than making the room feel smaller, has really opened it up! Between Pioneer Woman, Pinterest, Google, and me, it wasn’t outrageously expensive, and I was able to work on it in my spare time. There are a few touches left, but I’m happy, and it’s organized!

What’s your latest DIY home project?

~ Katie

Posted from WordPress for Android

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
