SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{August 23, 2014}   Family Friendly Fun: Easter Weekend on the Cheap!

This past spring was horribly difficult in the House of Cheaptitude. I would prefer to never have a repeat. However, everything happens for a reason, and I feel like part of what I went through brought me some amazing experiences with the monkeys that I otherwise may not have taken the time to enjoy.

Easter weekend was a real bonding event for us this year.  We worked hard, played hard, and had a lot of fun.

The monkeys have always enjoyed digging in the dirt.  My front flower bed needed some serious attention, so I Tom Sawyered them.  We went to a plant stand, where I thought we were just getting a few flats of annuals. Nope, my babies wanted knockout roses!
image
I did get my annual flat of impatiens….

When we came home, the work really began. Pulling shrubs and trash from the flower bed, deciding where to move some perennials, choosing places for the new additions…
image

image
The monkeys were such a help with cleanup!

image
image
It was hot, grubby work!
image image

Monkey #1 wanted his roses by the garage, dressing up the driveway a bit.

image
Monkey #2 preferred the front flower bed.

image
She also “helped” with my annuals.
image
Once our $27 worth of plants were in the ground, the rest of the front needed some clean up.
image
image
image
image

My monkeys had a great time in the yard, but were even more excited to dye eggs.

image
I hate to spend money if I don’t have to, so we consulted Google, and figured out how to dye eggs with food coloring and vinegar. The smell was on the atrocious side, but it was a lot of fun.

image image The colors were so vibrant!
image
image
image

I was present pretty much in a supervisory capacity. The monkeys picked out the food coloring, concocted the dyes, and colored the eggs. I was there to keep them from coloring my kitchen – or each other!

Exhaustion set in kind of early that night. Monkey #2’s biggest concern as she went to bed was if Pioneer Woman came to help with the bathroom, she needed to be very careful not to run over the Easter Rabbit. The baskets on the table and eggs in the yard the next morning were proof enough.
image image

They were absolutely enthralled with all of the goodies!
image
image
image
Used to hunting the plastic eggs, the monkeys got a kick out of searching for eggs they’d colored themselves.
image
Monkey #2 wasn’t much of an eagle eye….

image She repeatedly walked past several eggs.
image Thank goodness big brother was there to boss direct her!
image

image image
image

It took over an hour for them to locate all of their Easter eggs. By the time they were finished, they needed a big breakfast to refuel for church.

image
image

(I love sunrise service for Easter, but Pioneer Woman convinced me to try out St. Mark’s midmorning.)
image
Grizzly and the monkeys did Easter dinner with his family, while I slowed down enough to watch the skiers from Pioneer Woman’s back patio and have dinner with her. All in all, it was a successful weekend.

What tips do you have for quality family holiday weekends without breaking the bank?

~ Katie

Posted from WordPress for Android

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
