SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{August 30, 2014}   Projects: Loving a 3 Day Weekend!

From the beginning of August until Memorial Day, the weekends feel rushed and crazy. I feel like I’ve accomplished something major if everyone has clean clothes for the week and I’ve been to the grocery.

Yes, I am a Middle School teacher.

In a typical school year, my Friday nights consist of grades and recorded TV.  Sunday – most of the day – is spent writing or revising lesson plans.

Friday has a different look this year, with date night, but the only really exciting thing about my weekends right now is sleeping past 4 am.

I set a goal at the beginning of the summer to have my house situated (read clean and organized) by the start of school so that the first few weeks of August wouldn’t be so rough. While I made major progress, this goes on the list of incomplete projects. Labor Day weekend is my make up!

I can often accomplish more on a 3-day weekend than a 2-week holiday break.

My list of projects this weekend looks something like this:

1. Inventory and restock the pantries. I’d like to reconfigure the shelving while I’m at it, but Grizzly has a tight work schedule this weekend.

2. Catch up my freezer meals.  Y’all know I’m all about my freezer to crockpot and I only have 3 in the deep freeze right now.

3.  Laundry. Need I detail this? Oy.  I do need to make another monster batch of laundry soap while I’m projecting.

4.  Deep clean the kitchen.

5.  Deep clean the living room.

6.  Straighten my bedroom and bath.  It looks like my classroom has vomited on my side of the bed!

7.  Cut back the front flower bed and do some miscellaneous yard work.

8. Monkey #1’s closet.

The rewards for this, apart from a livable House of Cheaptitude? I’ll allow myself some scrapbook time and do my monthly hair treatment.  But I have to get the rest done 1st!

I should be able to knock a lot out today. Monkey #1 is cousin timing at Comic Con. Monkey #2 is having girly time with her Nana – pedi and a movie! And Grizz is working.  My friends are all out of town, so my distractions should be very few.  Wish me luck!

What are your big plans this holiday weekend?

~ Katie

Posted from WordPress for Android

Georgina says:

Good luck! And what are your freezer to slow cooker go tos as I’m lazy beef beef chicken?



katiebman says:

I love the recipes on sidetrackedsara.com. I will do a sausage and potato casserole, a tater tot casserole, maybe French dip? I have over 80 recipes from which to choose – after folding laundry lol!



Georgina says:

I’ll look up Sara. Hopefully be inspired 🙂



katiebman says:

Try Six Sister’s Stuff too. I love anything I can chunk in a freezer bag :-). I need to start posting more of those recipes that I use and modify. I’ll do the sausage and potato bc I actually can’t find a recipe!



Georgina says:

I’d love if you’d share your recipe. And I’ll check out six sisters too. Thank you 🙂



Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
