SoBo Mama's Tips & Tricks











{September 1, 2014}   Recipe: Broccoli Burger Braid

First of all, my CDO isn’t as severe as Jeepnmom’s. Let me make that crystal clear right now.  I don’t lose my poo over nearly as many things as my precious bff. I’m all about some routines, though, and my Monday dinners are a big deal to me.

They started while Pioneer Woman was deployed, so her husband had a home cooked meal at least once a week, and have continued for over a year.  Usually l chunk something in the crockpot on my way out the door, due to faculty meetings and schedules. The one Monday I actually attempted to cancel, they showed up with pizza and beer. They know me and my “stuff.”

Today is Labor Day. Most of America is grilling with family and friends. Not the House of Cheaptitude. 1. Grizzly is working. 2. Pioneer Woman is traveling. 3. Pioneer Woman’s hubby hasn’t been to Monday dinner since June. 4. I don’t grill.

I didn’t feel like a freezer meal though.  And I had an idea that sounded divine to me.  Have you ever been to a Pampered Chef party and had the yummy Chicken and Broccoli Braid? One of my favorites.  I rarely make it because I’m always crunched for time, but it sounds good today.

I don’t have some of the ingredients. I don’t like some of the ingredients.  So here is my take on the braid.

Cheeseburger Broccoli Braid
1 cup browned ground meat (deer, at my house)
1 cup shredded cheese
2 tablespoons mayo – I actually add more so it’ll be more moist. You can also use ranch dressing – yum!
1 cup finely chopped broccoli (tonight I’m using green beans because I’m out of broccoli!)
Garlic powder, salt, pepper, dill to taste
1 package refrigerated crescent rolls – almost bought just the sheet dough!

Combine everything but the dough in a bowl. Mix well  – everything should be moist.  On a cookie sheet – I use a large bar stone – roll out the dough and press the seams together.  Using a knife or pizza cutter, slice the dough 1/4 of the way in, matching each side, about 6-8 times.  Scoop the filling into the middle strip of the dough. Bring the cut sides together and twist. Bake at 375 degrees for 15-17 minutes.
image
image
image
So there it is. It may be just the monkeys and me, but it’s a yummy, easy dinner!

What’s your go-to when you have some extra time?

~ Katie

Posted from WordPress for Android

Sharing is Caring! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

et cetera
